Journal · Life

Things I’ve Noticed

I’ve got to say, life hasn’t been all that good lately. I’ve lost a little of my faith in human beings.

As an introvert, I notice a lot of things about people. In fact, I made a list of things I noticed about teenage girls.

They bond with each other by talking crap about other people. My friends have been excluding me and whispering to each other lately. Two of my friends who were (are?) really close have been having some trouble with each other lately. Let’s call them Artsy Girl and Attention Seeker.  At recess today all that Artsy Girl talked about was Attention Seeker. No, she wasn’t talking, she was complaining. I don’t like to talk about people behind their backs. I don’t think it’s fair to talk badly about someone just because they have made a mistake. I, for one, have made plenty mistakes. I would have stood up for my other friend, but this was the first time I had been included in weeks. WEEKS! I couldn’t bring myself to do it. I have decided though, next time I will.

How to deal with this: Change the subject. It’s not that hard. You can say outright, “I don’t want to talk about people behind their backs.” Or, if you don’t want to say that, you just be like,”Hey, have you guys studied at all for the test Friday?”

They are ruthless! Attention Seeker made one mistake. ONE. Just one mistake, yet Artsy Girl was saying she hated her and all of this other stuff.

How to deal with this: Be the kindest person you can be. You can’t stop other people from being mean, but if you don’t give them a reason to be mean people will realize it is their problem, not yours.

They will do anything to get attention. Really. This one girl in my class sat in corners all alone and acted like she was depressed just to get attention. This did not work. Now I think she might actually be depressed. Maybe not depressed, but I’m sure she doesn’t feel good about herself.

How to deal with this: Again, you can’t stop others from doing this. Just make sure you are staying true to yourself. Changing yourself just to get attention is not fair to yourself.

 

I don’t want you to think all middle-school girls are like this. There are plenty of amazing teens out there! And even the girls that do these things are great too!

I hope you had a good day! xxx

Internet Introvert signing off….

2 thoughts on “Things I’ve Noticed

Leave a Reply

